Actaeon

Ok so admittedly my current mood is fully influenced by the fact that the Sun no longer seems to be so shy.  A bit of sun and there seems to be a whole heap of positivity floating about. And this, despite the fact, that I woke up with a cactus lodged firmly down my throat. Or so it seemed. And that she goes away for another day. Or that he went away this week 18 years ago. I miss my father. I miss driving in his car, listening to his eclectic song collection. Inhaling second hand smoke. Overhearing conversations which were either so serious I wouldn’t understand or so jovial that I would nearly wet myself. Searing highs and piercing lows as a very close friend told me not so long ago.

It’s this summery vibe, mixed with nostalgia, mixed with deep house beats, mixed with reminiscing. The soul of the vocals and the yearning of a heart. The positive bounciness that balances the unsure questions. Thats what this song, by hugely impressive Cambridge duo, Actaeon, manages to encapsulate so effortlessly.

808 sounds like its sang by some seasoned Californian who has graced many a stage. But it’s not, its Louis Du Sauzay, a 20 year old Cambridge student who models for Storm. The mixing and production sounds like something that’s the brainchild of Jamie XX. But it’s not, its Jack Johnson, a 21 year old Cambridge student too who loves a little kick around. Thats right, 20 year old Cambridge students who study Classics. And they produce this kind of music. A soulful mix of electronica, good pop and dare I say it R n B. Honestly, the moment I heard the opening 30 seconds and those amazing vocals, it was done. Actaeon, frighteningly good!