Emancipated

I beg you, scroll down and hit play first. And then read below. Please. πŸ™‚

I hadn’t seen my little nephew and niece in about a week and I was genuinely feeling a bit low trying to figure the last conversation I had with them. So today, while it was still light outside, and before my lunch had digested to the point that I was starving again, and before anyone could herald me back, I left work feeling like I’d got away with something. Emancipated. Β On coming home, a few phone calls later and it seems one of my very good friend’s stag weekend coming up in a few days time is finally taking shape. Β The realities of responsibility and whatnot have suddenly seemed to overcome us all so recently and this is another little last bite of our realities. And as I started to unwind for the night I started thinking back over our friendship and the carefree nature running around Holkham Beach and Camber Sands enjoying our British summers together and the side-splitting laughter driving up and down motorways across the country and the joyful nonsense of breaking into restricted areas and strumming guitars and singing along and dreaming of our futures and all that we’ve been upto with our little bunch of friends. And I felt emancipated again.

SEAWAVES

And just like, when you listen to the birds tweeting and the slap beat and the simplistic but gorgeous melodic first notes in the opening seconds of this new SEAWAVES track, and just as the vocals start to come in to play and the electronic ah’s set the pace and undertones for the song and as the song builds up gathering more momentum, more gusto, more creative freedom and as the oh-oh-oh’s of freedom and sunlight and hope and feel great ring out. I feel. Once. Again. Emancipated.