Grow

Yup, definitely deserve a little beating for not posting here for fricking ages. But there are reasons. Hear me out, please. Basically, I went to an amazing story telling night, went on a mini holiday, danced, DJ’d, shared love at a very close friend’s wedding, went to a poetry night (!) and I did actually manage to sift through a shit load of new music, which proved to be just that, a shit load. It’s been a little dry recently.

Ryan Vail

So as you’d expect, I was on very much a hype when I came across this belter, Grow. Ryan Vail of good old Derry put this up late Wednesday night. They have pretty good form having already performed alongside Jon Hopkins and Jamie xx It strikes a tone which is exactly what a Thursday night needs. The mesmerising intro, which in and of itself, is brilliant, manages to somehow be too quick at an astonishing 1 in 23 secs. And then those opening lines. You don’t know what I’ve been told, I’ll die young and you’ll grow old. As of late I’m all over this whole post electro deep house/ambient vibe and this fits that description. Beautiful poignancy once the melodies fade at 3 mins 55secs and just a beat is all that remains. Ryan Vail describe their song as electronica, I describe it as breath-taking.